Why Get a Dog?

Everything people say about getting a dog is correct: it’s like getting a child, they take a lot of hard work, traveling will be more difficult, etc. I am surprised by how TIRED I am. I suppose I’m typically exhausted by this time on a Friday, but man. Every bone of me wants to go to sleep and not wake up for a long, long time. I think I can attribute that to not being able to sleep in on the weekends anymore. This past weekend was like any work day – up by about 7am so we can let Sammie out to potty. By that time, she’s so awake that WE’RE awake – at least until we get to the couch in the living room. I took more naps this past weekend than I ever have! This coming weekend, I’m going to have to do it all alone – Aaron is gone for a three day long golf tournament. My mom is coming, but I’m not going to make her help me flush Sammie’s ears, pick up her poop, or any of the other things that go into having a dog. Sammie is not my mom’s responsibility, she’s mine.

Like bringing a child into your life, however, having a dog is so incredibly worth all of the above limitations/changes to my life. When we’re playing or going exploring, I love to see her excitement! When she’s laying on her back for a belly rub, I love the toothy grin she gives me (I want so badly to take a picture of it, but any time I stop rubbing her belly she’s up and moving again). When she cowers because she knows she’s done something she’s not supposed to, I can’t help but feel bad myself. When she lets my cats sniff or walk by her without even acknowledging them, I glow with pride, just like she’s learned a new trick. All these moments and more make me forget my too-soon wake-up call or the difficulty in going away for a weekend, and I feel incredibly blessed and lucky to have her love and affection. There is something about the companionship they provide that is soothing to the soul.

All these emotions are made stronger and felt more keenly because we saved this life. Yep! Everything they say about getting a dog is correct. They are definitely (wo)man’s best friend…

 

Leave a Reply

