I Think It’s Fall

It seems like we went from crazy hot weather to cooler fall weather in no time flat! It’s making it really difficult to get out of bed in the mornings…to take Sammie for a walk, and it’s even more difficult once I get home in the evenings because it’s so much colder! We’re still getting used to this whole being active thing, so the weather change has not helped us. I’m hoping our friends at the dog park are still coming out to play! That’s really where Sammie burns the most energy. Walks just don’t really seem to cut it.

10494629_10153005011464008_4818340546269984719_nI suppose it’s about time you learned about the person behind the blog. My name is Samantha (but you can call me Sam, most people do) and I work for the State of Missouri. I’m only a little more than a year out of college and living with my boyfriend, Aaron, who also works for the state. That’s actually how we met! I’ve been an animal lover from the time I was born, and I think I was asking Santa for a cat by the time I was three (we had a couple dogs already). I got my first cat, Esmerelda, when I was 5 – we found her in the street and adopted her – and all my little kid stories/journal entries were about her. I guess you could say blogging about animals comes naturally to me!

I really wanted to start this blog to track Sammie’s growth. When I brought home my cats, they were little bitty things, and taking pictures seemed the best way to capture my memories of them. With Sammie being two, I won’t see the same kind of growth from pictures that I did with my cats, so a blog seemed the best solution! I also wanted to use my blog as a way to encourage people to adopt from animal shelters. Sammie fits into our family seamlessly and has been super well behaved! She’s also (we think) a purebred, which most people don’t think they can get at their local shelter. Most of the animals that my family and I have owned have been “rescued,” even if we didn’t get them from a pound; we’ve taken in the dumped, the unwanted, and the difficult to give away. Now, that’s not to say that I wouldn’t buy a dog from a breeder – if I was looking for a specific breed and couldn’t find one at a shelter in my area, I would, but there’s something about adoption that creates a special, unique bond with your pet. It’s like they KNOW.

So there you have it! Me in a nutshell. And as Bob Barker would always say: “Have your pets spayed or neutered!”

6 comments

  1. The Lesser Canine · September 16, 2014

    Yay for rescue and adoption 🙂 There are also breed specific rescues incase you can’t find what you would like in a shelter! I keep myself from going to Golden Retriever Rescue everyday!

    Like

    • dogblog01 · September 16, 2014

      You are totally right! I’ve always wanted to rescue a greyhound racer, and my grandma got her English setter from Save Our Setters. You just have to be ready to widen your search to other states for some breeds.

      Like

  2. inspiredbybooks · February 2, 2015

    I am such a big fan of adopting pets. Our dog S’mores has been fantastic for our family, and even though there have been challenges at times, it is worth it. We do share a special bond as you say…if she needs to connect she will sit on my feet while I put on makeup. Sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · February 3, 2015

      Aww, I love that! Our girl LOVES to snuggle up on the bed with us. She will move and stretch to have as much room as possible and yet be as close as possible, too. Drives my boyfriend crazy!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Genis · February 26, 2015

    Hi, thanks for stopping by on my blog. My family is all in favor of adoption and sterilization, as there are so many homeless pets in our country and we support the idea of responsible breeding. So please to meet another adoptee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · February 27, 2015

      Pleased to meet you as well! Can’t wait to follow along on all your adventures as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

