“Pet” Peeves

I love checking out the local animal shelters’ websites to see what dogs they have available and to read a little about them, even though we’re definitely not looking to adopt right now. I do it because I love the feeling I get when an animal that has been there for a while suddenly isn’t on the adoption list anymore. Since they’re all no-kill shelters, it means that dog has finally found his or her happy ending and that absolutely warms my heart.

For a reason that isn’t apparent to me, I also “like” to check the ads on Craigslist for animals. I say like, but there is really nothing about it that I like. I get so frustrated when I see things like “I work full time and I just can’t give my cat or dog the attention it deserves.” I understand that struggle; I hate putting Sammie in her kennel in the morning and after lunch. I just want more time with her! But when I get off at five, you bet I spend as much time with her as I can: playing, going to the dog park, lounging, walking, etc. I also try to give my cats one-on-one time, be that putting Sammie up 10 minutes earlier than I typically do or going to another part of our apartment to establish a “safe” zone for them. Yes, pets are a responsibility and they take a lot of time. Would it be easier if everyone who owned a pet didn’t have to work? Absolutely! In these economic times, though, that’s just not feasible, and working and having a pet do not have to be mutually exclusive. You just have to be willing to put in the effort.

Another one of my favorite excuses? “I’m moving and I can’t take them with me.” Now, if you’re moving overseas for a definite period of time, I can understand wanting to rehome your pet for his or her sake. Getting all the paperwork straightened out and then putting them through weeks of quarantine could be really rough on them, and then to do that every time you come back? I see your point. However, if you’re moving to a different state, another town, or even a different apartment, why did you not factor your pet into the equation? Even the least pet-friendly places have pet approved housing… And even the biggest dog can be shipped in a plane!

I’m sorry. I don’t mean to use this blog as a place to complain, but it’s been on my mind for a while and I had to vent. I know that not all situations are created equally, but a pet is a lifetime commitment. When you bring animals into your life, they become part of your family; at the very least, you become their world, and that’s not something to be taken lightly…

2 comments

  1. The Lesser Canine · September 17, 2014

    I feel sad when I see the “moving” excuse too 😦 I’m an immigrant here and there can easily come a day when my stay here ends and I have to go back. But guess who will go with me and live with GrandPaw and GrandMeao ? One set of black labbie paws 🙂 It is the reason I have only one dog..otherwise there is no telling how many I’d have adopted by now

    Like

    • dogblog01 · September 17, 2014

      Good for you! Both for your willingness to take your furry friend back with you, should the time come for that (fingers crossed it won’t and you can keep adding to your family!), and for being responsible enough to know the limits of your situation. It seems from what I’ve read that SO MANY do not…

      Like

Leave a Reply

