Upcoming Trip

Aaron has still not told his family that we have a dog. We’ve had her over a month, and they still don’t know. Every time they call, I ask if today will be the day. Every time they Facetime, I let her out of her kennel so maybe they’ll get a glimpse and ask him about her. Still nothing.

Thursday, we’re traveling to Indianapolis to see his dad and step-mom, and I still don’t know whether Sammie is coming with us. At first, he told me we’d bring her along and tell them about her after we left – surprise!! Then he said he was going to ask one of his friends to watch her. I’m sorry, but I don’t want to leave her with someone else… WE’RE her family, and I don’t think she’d understand. Not yet. Sometimes, I get the sense that she’s afraid we’re leaving her for good when we go somewhere. To leave her with someone she doesn’t know for three whole days? I don’t think I can do that to her.

So, dear readers, how do I convince my boyfriend that today needs to be the day? And how does he tell his family that he has a dog he hasn’t been telling them about for so long?

2 comments

  1. scarlybobs · October 7, 2014

    My partner didn’t tell his parents we had a dog straight away either. They were quite against us getting a dog but we decided to just rip off the band-aid and tell them. We waited until Kasper was settled with us after we adopted him (which took about a month or so) and then told them we’d *just* got a dog. We invited them to come over and visit. It went well and although they took some time getting used to the idea, three years on they like him now 🙂

    Good luck to you all! 😀

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · October 7, 2014

      Thanks! I called my boyfriend and just told him he needs to see what they say. If they don’t want her coming because of their own pets, that’s fine – I’ll deal with it! But I wanted him to at least TRY. He promised me that much (we’ll see how well he follows through, though).

      Like

Leave a Reply

