Worried

Typically in the morning, I go through my Reader to see what’s been going on in the world of those I follow. This morning, I can barely keep my attention there. I’m worried.

I’m worried about our Sammie girl. Last night, we took her on a walk and when we got to the field/woods behind our apartment, off she went. She was gone for what seemed like FOREVER, and the trouble was, we could see exactly where she was. She must have found something down there that interested her more than coming back to us. Well, as a result, when she did finally come up, Aaron was M-A-D and put her in her kennel straight away, where she stayed there the rest of the night. At 12:30am, I woke to Sammie whining and pawing at her kennel incessantly. I let her out and she drank about a bowl and a half of water! Aaron reminded me that too much water could also cause bloat, so I took her out to potty, which she did. She then went to her kennel and was quiet the rest of the night.

This morning, she peed and pooped like normal, but her demeanor was different. Maybe it’s because she could tell Aaron was still upset with her. After he left for work, she went to her crate and just laid there. I even had trouble coaxing her out, and when she did finally come out, it was for a brief amount of time. Her tummy does seem distended (not quite to the extent it was during our last scare, but enough that I noticed it), but it doesn’t hurt her.

Did she get into something that made her tummy swell last night? Or was it me letting her drink all that water? Is she laying in her kennel like that because she’s depressed about her guy being mad at her or because she’s sick? If it’s because she’s sick, how sick is she? Is it, “I don’t feel good because I ate something I wasn’t supposed to” sick or “I’m bloated and I need to go to the vet ASAP” sick?

I guess I’ll find out at lunch… These next 3 hours are going to be torture, so maybe I’ll go early. Anyone out there who can calm me down??

6 comments

  1. mk22llewis · October 27, 2014

    Everything will be okay! There are so many variables in this situation but what I can tell you is that dogs are very resilient.

    Anxiety is the worst and most of the time it feels like trial by error with your first dog. Usually, when I get in a panic I remember what my boyfriend has said to me from the start “dogs have been around for thousands of years.” This comment usually follows some comment from me about her lack of eating or her behavior. He is been right every time so far and has saved me a lot of money. I usually just keep a close eye on her and wait it out a day.

    Also, I can related to the dog running off as most can I am sure. My advice there is a 20 foot leash. You can reel her in so to speak. And remember in a situation where she finally comes back don’t be to mad (even though you are) because you want to reward her for coming back.

    I hope this helps. You are doing a great job and everything will be okay! 🙂

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · October 27, 2014

      Thank you. Aaron has said similar things to me, too – he said dogs get into stuff. It’s what they do! And he’s right, but it’s so hard knowing SOMETHING’S going on, you just don’t know what.

      Just wish they could talk sometimes!

      Like

      • mk22llewis · October 27, 2014

        Me too!
        Plus I always think if I am this crazy as a dog mom, I will be a hot mess as the mom of a human one day lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Saving Sammie · October 27, 2014

        She seems to be doing okay – back to her bouncy self once daddy got home.

        As for the belly, I think she did just eat something that disagreed with her. She keeps drinking all kinds of water!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. scarlybobs · October 27, 2014

    Sending positive vibes to you all and hoping your girl is fine.

    Kasper used to disappear all the time when he was younger, and we used a long line with him – I believe you can buy them up to 100 feet long, although that’s a lot of reeling!! 😉

    Also, Kasper has swallowed large chunks of bone before, to the point where he was puking up everywhere over a period of several hours – he soon returned to normal. Another time he was in severe pain and, just as we were getting ready to take him to the emergency vet (of course it was a Sunday night…), he pooped out a 4 INCH shard of bone!!! After that he was perfectly fine, although he doesn’t get bones anymore for obvious reasons 😉

    And he managed to cut an artery on a walk one time that required surgery – he recovered just fine!

    So I’m sure Sammie will be okay, and bounce back from whatever is bugging her 🙂

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · October 27, 2014

      Thank you! Just checked in on her and she was back to her bouncy self once daddy got home! I think she could sense his mood.

      As for her belly, it’s still kinda round, but I’m sure it’s from eating something that disagreed with her because she’s still downing water!

      Like

Leave a Reply

