Limps are for Pimps

When I was in high school, I had this middle school kid ask me – every time I saw him – why I was limping. I told him I didn’t realize I was, to which he responded: “Limps are for pimps.”

The reason I tell you this story is because Sammie has a bit of a limp, and since she can’t talk, we don’t know why. She doesn’t like her paws to be touched or messed with, so examining it was a brutal but necessary evil last night, and I think she’s come to forgive us for it. It’s her front right paw, and while it looks red between her pads, it doesn’t seem to have anything stuck in it, nor does it appear to have a cut. That’s led us to believe it’s from her chewing on it all the time (would you agree?). Now, every time we catch her gnawing on that paw, we tell her to quit – and she listens pretty well, surprisingly. Do you have tips on how to make her quit chewing on those paws of hers? Should I take her to the vet? I’d hate for her to keep at it, make it worse, and then in a romp around outside get it infected…

The rest of the weekend was quiet – really quiet! Aaron was gone for opening season of deer hunting, leaving me alone with the critters. While I was super bummed to have Aaron gone for the whole weekend, it ended up being pretty great! Saturday was Sammie’s day, and even though I went shopping with some family that afternoon, the morning and evening were dedicated to cuddling and playing. It was really nice having some time for us to bond even closer!

Everyone in the house honored Sunday as a day of rest. Sammie got me up at 6:45am to take her out to potty and then again at 9am (I think just to check on me). While I couldn’t go back to sleep at that point, Sammie did and was snoring in bed next to me for another two hours! Frou thought that the perfect opportunity to come and snuggle with both me AND Sammie (see top pic above).

Aaron got home a little after noon, and we were all happy to have him home, the cats especially:

wpid-1416189209561.jpg

Aaron snuggled with Mr. Tubs

The rest of the day was spent catching up (he didn’t get a deer – I guess we’re both going next weekend, though!), napping, watching football, and staying WARM. That’s especially hard to do right now: the temperature continues to drop and the wind is absolutely brutal. When I came home for lunch, Aaron said Sammie didn’t even want to go out…

That’s a bit of our weekend! And remember to let me know what you think about Sammie’s paw.

8 comments

  1. scarlybobs · November 17, 2014

    Hmm, I have no idea about the paw – does she chew all four paws, both front paws or just one paw?

    Could it be an allergic reaction to something?

    Kasper recently had a tiny nick on his foot (so tiny we couldn’t see it no matter how hard we looked!) but he chewed and licked at the paw until it got infected. The result? A month wearing the dreaded cone of shame!! It did heal without a trip to the vet needed though.

    Could you call your vet and ask their opinion, or will they just want you to take Sammie in anyway?

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · November 17, 2014

      We’ve thought she has food allergies, so have her on salmon based kibble. The itchiness has seemed to be better until recently, with her only occasionally chewing on her paws (and then mainly one in the front).

      As for calling the vet? They’d probably want me to bring her in anyway. I have a coupon for a free nail trim, so I thought about taking her in for that and then see if they notice anything (swelling, pain, etc.).

      Like

  2. olivenlily · November 17, 2014

    Her paw could be a lot of things, is it painful when you palpate it?

    I’m an overly neurotic dog mom so I go to the vet… a lot. But I have good reason!! (Read my blog tailwaggintough.wordpress.com if you doubt me haha). In all honesty though if it doesn’t improve over the next 24 hours I would take her in.

    Good luck!

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · November 18, 2014

      There are times she doesn’t seem bothered by it at all, and then other times when she can’t/won’t put weight on it.

      I finally called the vet last night, and I am taking her in today at 5:45pm. Hopefully they can figure out what’s going on with her!

      Like

      • olivenlily · November 18, 2014

        Keep me updated!! Keeping my fingers crossed and sending positive vibes her way!

        Like

      • Saving Sammie · November 18, 2014

        Thanks! I’ll definitely let you know how it went. I’ve read all your posts. I’m sending positive vibes your way, too!!

        Like

  3. Ginene Nagel · December 6, 2014

    Hi, I’m a new reader…can I still put in my five cents? I want to tell you that there is a website, I don’t know what the name of it is right now but it is the one that has the phone number 1-eight hundred-petmeds, anyway, the website has vets answer questions about animal health situations. It is really good and people write in and say what works and what doesn’t. That is really helpful. My sister’s lab always had ear infections and I went on there 10 years ago, found an answer that people reviewed. My sister thanked me so many times for ending that problem. I like to research before I go to the vet’s. When I go in, I feel like I have somewhat of a handle on the situation.
    Ginene

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · December 6, 2014

      That’s a really good idea! Having a dog, the need for that will be endless. I always feel like I go in to the vet’s office with so many questions…

      Like

Leave a Reply

