Normalcy

Five days away from home is a long time, especially for pets. We’ve found Sammie doing some things she NEVER would have done pre-vacation (okay, things she RARELY did). For example, she’s been getting up on our couch a lot lately. She would always try and push the envelope to see how much she could get away with before:

Head down! Okay, now one paw up… Here comes the sec- oh!! Shot down.

However, you can now find her excitedly jumping up with ALL FOUR LEGS on the couch, trying to settle in as if she’s been doing it her whole life and it’s no big deal. She’s also lunging at the cats more enthusiastically than I remember, instead of her sneaky stalk like she was wont to do before.

What makes me the most sad is the lack of kisses on command! It used to be that whenever I was close and down on her level, I just had to say “Gimme kiss!” and I’d get one. Now I seem to be ignored. Maybe it’s still just the exuberance of being home and re-discovering everything, but at what point can I expect things to return to normal?

Despite all that, it’s super sweet, seeing her be so excited to come back inside from going potty or to snuggle on the bed. The idea of a game of chase is still just the best thing in the world, and I can’t resist that cheerfulness – I’m always down, no matter how badly I need to get ready for work. And slowly but surely, she’s working her way over to my side of the bed again. Last night, she laid between us at the foot of our bed instead of over by her daddy.

I think I need another girls’ weekend with her. Or more snuggle sessions. I just can’t get enough of that sweet face!!

2014-08-29 21.40.01

6 comments

  1. Will and Eko · December 2, 2014

    Humans aren’t the only ones who bend their habits on vacation!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nikitaland · December 2, 2014

    Just keep up with all positives and all of you should be back to normal! I have never left our two dogs – – ever, so I have never witnessed what you have. I get to stay home with the dogs all day, but I am sure that they would miss me terribly if I was away. Sammie has such a cute face for kissies!

    Like

  3. wallaceandsamuel · December 2, 2014

    It will all settle down again, just give it some time
    Wally & Sammy

    Like

Leave a Reply

