Solitude

Yesterday was a weird day for Sammie. Normally, when I come home for lunch and after work, she is there to greet me at the door. Yesterday, she didn’t come out to see me for several minutes. When she did, it was briefly before she went back to our bedroom. Aaron said she’d been like that since he got home and couldn’t figure out what was wrong.

She wasn’t laying on the bed, and she wasn’t hiding in her kennel. She was just laying on the floor. I don’t even think it was because the cats were back there – they like to be wherever we are.

After our pizzas were made last night, she came out and stayed out with us. Food is always a motivator for her! When we finally decided it was time for bed, she eagerly followed us and didn’t wait for an invite to curl up in her spot. She stayed there all night and was more herself this morning – licking my face and nudging me to get up, Get Up, GET UP!!

It’s moments like this when I wish she could talk to me and tell me what was going on with her. I want so much to make it better! I want her to be confident, happy, and secure. Aaron thought maybe she was lonely, but that doesn’t explain her wanting to be off by herself. Maybe traveling over the next few days will cheer her up and get that tail wagging again! Do any of your pets have “down” days like these? Anything you do to bring them out of it?

3 comments

  1. Nikitaland · December 23, 2014

    Our dogs can get a “down day” too, but it does not happen often. I do watch them on these days just in case, but normally it is nothing. When days like this happen, I am even more cautious of their stools as this tells everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · December 23, 2014

      I went home for lunch and Aaron told me he was taking the rest of the day off. Sammie seemed a lot happier since she was going to have company, but I’m definitely getting a full report when I get home!!

      Like

      • Nikitaland · December 23, 2014

        I guess dogs can have off days just like us. Give Sammie a hug from me when you get home!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

