Feeding the Cats

Early last week, the cats ran out of food. Frou has trouble with her urinary tract, so they both have been on Hill’s Prescription Diet c/d Multicare Feline with Chicken for Urinary Tract Health for over a year now with no problems. That is, until last week.

I went to the vet’s office and picked up a bag as usual, and brought it home. We gave the cats the typical amount and went to bed. The next morning, they hadn’t seemed to eat much, but that’s not always unusual, so we went to work. We didn’t start to worry until a day or two had gone by and they STILL hadn’t eaten anything, even with us trying to entice them to eat.

So I called the vet and they told me to call Science Diet. I gave them a call and they told me that they have a 100% guarantee on all their food for any reason, so I just needed to take it back to the place of purchase. Right then, I went back to the vet’s office – bag in hand – and they were out of that kind of food!! They also didn’t know how to process a return, so I had to hand over the bag of food that my cats hadn’t eaten ($65 value) AND buy a small bag of something different, with the understanding the vet’s office would figure out how to do a refund this week sometime. Since the cats have been so picky lately, we went with a small bag of the Hill’s Prescription Diet c/d Multicare Feline Urinary Stress with Chicken for Urinary Tract Health – similar to the original formula, but I didn’t want to buy another big bag and have them not eat it.

wpid-20150130_172835.jpg

While they are eating now, it’s still not much – about half what they usually eat. Does anyone out there have any advice for me? I could buy their old food from Chewy.com, but I would hate to do that and have them reject it again! It wouldn’t exactly be easy to return…

7 comments

  1. Carol · February 2, 2015

    Are there any other veterinary clinics in your area? Since your vet is out of it, you could ask them to call in a prescription for the food to another nearby clinic. Just make sure they have the same guarantee on their food!

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · February 2, 2015

      There are several! I could give that a try, and do another small bag just to be sure the cats haven’t snubbed their long-time food once and for all… Thanks for the suggestion!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carol · February 2, 2015

        Of course! I hope you have success. We cats can be awfully finicky when it comes to our food, so you’re smart to try one more small bag!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. noodle4president · February 2, 2015

    Is it possible that something was wrong with the 1st bag of food? Us animals won’t eat if the food is stale or even if there’s bacteria growing. Maybe try their normal food but a new bag?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · February 3, 2015

      That’s what I was wondering, but the ‘Best By’ date wasn’t until 2016! Strange. I may go with the small bags from now on (but they aren’t usually as cost-effective and then I run out quicker – especially with two cats!).

      Like

Leave a Reply

