Update on the Cats – And it’s Gross

As I’ve said before, owning pets is not all sunshine. Just like people, they have some habits that can be, well, gross.

So I told you all Monday about my difficulties with my cats’ food. Well, I’ve been excited to see that they’ve been eating the full amount now that they’ve (I assumed) gotten used to it. Well, perhaps that’s not exactly the case.

I was sleeping rather peacefully last night when I awoke to the sounds of pre-throw up RIGHT ABOVE MY HEAD. I sat up and saw Frou-Frou’s stomach heaving and I said to her “Not on the pillow!” right as she threw up. She then moved to the edge of the bed and threw up there. Aaron was grossed out – and with good reason – so we stripped the sheets and laid back on the OTHER half of the bed (the mattress even had a couple spots that had leaked through). That’s when he told me that the past two afternoons at lunch he’s had to clean up throw-up piles. However, he said those didn’t look anything like what Frou had just done. I suppose last night’s episode could have been from a hairball, but it was too late for me to analyze it too closely. I’ll have to check when I get home from work today.

Maybe they aren’t used to this food. Maybe it’s causing some pretty gross side effects. Or maybe they’ve been so hungry they’ve been over-eating. I’m going to call the vet today and see if they’ve figured out how to refund me my money and what they think is going on with my cats.

The cats are so lucky I love them!!

10 comments

  1. Carol · February 4, 2015

    The vet’s office sold you a different, but similar formula, right? So they’re not eating the exact same kind of food. We cats can be particularly sensitive to foods so even a slight variation on the formula can cause us gastrointestinal distress. Heck, even a new bag of the same formula food can cause issues (though rarely) because food can vary slightly from batch to batch. This is why when switching a cat’s food it’s suggested to do so incrementally over a period of time (mixing the old with the new, first 75/25, then 50/50, then 25/75).

    Your vet should have warned you about this risk when they sold you a different kind of food. Really, they should have done what they could to get you the same food even if it meant losing a sale to another vet’s office. I would recommend trying to get your hands on the old food and getting them back on it. Hopefully their tummies will settle down within a few days!

    So sorry you’re having to deal with puking kitties! That’s not fun for anyone!! 🙂

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · February 4, 2015

      Thanks, Carol! I called and asked my vet’s office about it and they said all their other patients had transitioned fine, so they thought maybe my cats were just eating too quickly. I don’t think that’s very likely since they’ve never puked so much before! So I’ve put in another food order with Chewy.com to have them ship the old food to me – if the vet’s office will sign off on the prescription!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Carol · February 4, 2015

        Hmm… eating too quickly can be an issue, but I still suspect there’s more to it than that. And if your vet won’t sign off on the prescription (considering they don’t have the food you need available), I’d recommend looking for another vet! Good luck!!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. noodle4president · February 4, 2015

    I vote new vet too! Mom told me to tell you to never let your vet dismiss your concerns. So long as it isn’t detrimental (mom taught me that word earlier) to the cat, they should do whatever you wish. Hmph. Just leave Dr. Noodle to it. Old food, new vet. Maybe the kitties got wormies or bacteria? I bet it’s bacteria from an evil bag of bad food!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Saving Sammie · February 4, 2015

      Thanks, Noodle (and mom)! I have a feeling you’re right. I don’t think it’s anything serious, but I do wish that they would be a LITTLE more helpful. Hmph is right!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. noodle4president · February 4, 2015

    P.S. I’m almost, kind of, sorta, certified as a doctor.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. GSDMom · February 5, 2015

    I can’t relate to this, thankfully xD with cats anyway. I’m definitely NOT a cat person haha but sorry you have to go through this! Hope they feel better soon! No fun having sick animals in the house.

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · February 5, 2015

      It’s no fun, especially when you feel limited in what you can do to help them!

      Like

  5. fillyourownglass · February 12, 2015

    Our Muggsy has been prone to puking for most of his 17 years. Sometimes it’s a hairball, sometimes just water he drank too fast, and sometimes it’s undigested food. Ah, the surprises life brings us! It’s funny, though, how you can awaken from a dead sleep at the “pre-puke” sound. I just remind myself that human children probably produce things far more disgusting than our cat does, so we’re thankful not to have to deal with that. Gotta love our babies! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · February 12, 2015

      That’s so very true! My two used to puke if I left for the weekend, but they grew out of that. Now it’s mostly from eating too fast and the occasional hairball. Still gross, but you’re right – a lot less gross than what human babies produce!

      Like

Leave a Reply

