Companionship

Both Aaron and I would really like to find a companion for Sammie – we think she would benefit a great deal from having another dog to play with all the time. And because I like to torture myself (I want all the unwanted animals!!), I’ve been looking. That’s when I came across this beauty on Craigslist:

She’s a four year old German Shepherd/Husky/Wolf mix (so the post says) available in our area. She apparently has separation anxiety, so having another dog around would be great for her, too!

I wanted her. I showed her picture to Aaron. He thought she was beautiful as well. We talked to her owner and we talked amongst ourselves.

As much as we love her, and as much as we think Sammie would benefit from having another dog around, we’re just not sure we have the space for two big dogs and everything that comes with them. Pets are also expensive, and on our already tight budgets, we’re not sure we could handle the additional costs.

Do I still dream about Arya? Absolutely. Do I still want another dog for Sammie? You bet! Will I continue to look? Probably. But I wanted to ask those of you with multiple dogs in apartments or small houses: how do you make it work? Does it ever feel cramped? Was the decision to get another difficult for you because of that?

8 comments

  1. sanseilife · June 18, 2015

    I have a 900 square foot house. A German Shepherd, the German Shepherd mix, a Dalmation mix. But I love commotion! I’ve always had three big dogs, but like I said I love the commotion

    Liked by 2 people

  2. colinandray · June 18, 2015

    Some things to ponder (because we have gone through the same thinking with Ray):
    1. While Sammie may well like a friend to play with, being an “only child” is not a problem. i.e. your desire to get a friend is now doubt stronger than Sammie’s desire to have one!
    2. German Shepherds often seem to have issues with Huskies. We have no idea why but so many GSD owners have commented on that. Ray also has problems with Huskies.
    3. Introducing a dog with an issue to a stable dog may well fix the dog with the issue HOWEVER, it may also pass the issue on to the stable dog. It could go either way. It’s a 50/50 gamble ……….. not good odds!

    In the interests of both Ray, and any possible live-in friend, we have decided to drop the idea and develop a relationship with other local dogs as we see fit. Our main concern (because we would only adopt from a shelter) is the new dog moves in with us, but things don’t work out. The poor guy then has to leave (=rejection) ………… which has probably been the story of his life!

    Please think it through carefully.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Will and Eko · June 18, 2015

    I live in a pretty small city-apartment. There’s barely enough room for my bed and their beds in my room, but as long as the pups are well-exercised they just need enough space to lounge.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ginene Nagel · June 18, 2015

    I owned two huskies when I lived in northern Wisconsin. I would not get one in an apartment. They are bred to live outside and they are very hot inside. Both dogs, owned at different times, would attack and try to shake to death any small pet that came near…cat, poodle, etc. Great dogs, but not for an apartment. They are suited for large, snow covered areas.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. lexitheschnauzer · June 18, 2015

    You have gotten some great advice here. Mom wants to leave just a few more thoughts and confirmations on what others said:

    1. If possible, and you think it might be good for him, take Sammie to daycare one or two days a week. Some dogs live for this. Check them out first to be sure the dogs get a lot of supervised play time together.
    2. Fostering is a great way to “try out” a dog to see if he/she is a good fit. If not, you can take comfort in knowing that you saved the dog from being in a shelter or kennel while looking for their furever home.
    3. I second Colinandray’s first point. We all tend to project our issues onto our dogs (which is what makes such great blogs, LOL!)
    4. Their third point: Any time my husband and I keep a dog for someone, and that is a lot, always, always, always, always it is the bad- yes, the bad – behavior or issues that get passed on.
    5. I remember that when I had my second baby (human) I expected things to be twice as hard/busy. Wrong. Probably more like 5 times. Sigh. Love my kids, glad they are grown.

    Other than the last part about my kids, hope this is of help.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Genis LeyNel · June 20, 2015

    Genis was used to sharing our big house with two big dogs, but once they passed on, we retired to a small 3-roomed apartment and made a conscious decision for him to remain an “only child”. So far it seems to be working out fine; he gets lots of attention and luckily for him our coastal climate permits us to go for daily walks on the beach, which he thoroughly enjoys.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. carolynswriting · June 25, 2015

    I’m late to this conversation but all the points above are so valid. We adopted our two as a pair which the adoption people & former owner didn’t want separated, so that has worked well. But with our previous dog Cassie (an adoptee too), I had wanted to find her a companion, so I ‘trialled’ a smaller dog. Cass didn’t like him at all, and he started to pass on bad behaviour to her. It upset me to give up but his owner took him back to find another more suitable home (ie: one where he could be the only dog, due to his obsessive needs). Perhaps if you sit on the idea for now, a friend for Sammie will turn up out of the blue, just like cats do! You’re doing a fantastic job with her & your cats 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

