Giant Hairball

I was looking at Tubby the other night when I realized his fur was looking a little long and unkempt. He hates being brushed. I’m not sure why – he HAS to feel better afterward – but he cries and complains and tries to get away as soon as I pull out the brush.

The result speaks for itself, though:

IMG_1945

ONE cat! Can you believe it? And I probably could have gotten another bunch that big out of him if I hadn’t let him go. Frou had gotten a good brushing not too long before from Aaron, so she was spared the ‘torture’.

Then, when I brushed Sammie last night, I focused on the area near her butt (for whatever reason, she sheds more there than she does from the rest of her body), and from just a few minutes, pulled out a chunk of hair about half the size pictured. When we went outside a few minutes later, I was STILL pulling hair out just from petting her!

No wonder our vacuum fills up every week with hair.

3 comments

  1. colinandray · August 18, 2015

    Ray is the same ……. sheds in lumps especially around his rear! Apparently it is quite common with German Shepherds. Remember to change the furnace filters, as well as the vacuum filters, regularly.

    Like

  2. lexitheschnauzer · August 18, 2015

    Impressive amount of hair from a cat. My sis Lily was a collie mix and she was the same way. Also lots of hair around her neck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

