Success! We Think…

We love Sammie’s crate – it serves us well in keeping her out of trouble. SAMMIE loves her crate – it’s her safe place. However, we have now been almost a week without her crate, and we think it’s going well.

I did not realize until last Wednesday when I was leaving for work that we left Sammie’s crate in Aaron’s vehicle after our long weekend. Of course, he leaves for work before I do, so there was no getting it and setting it up. What’s a girl to do in a situation like this? Get creative:

IMG_2110

The cats’ litter box is the main way Sammie gets in trouble when she’s out. However, on the rare occasion, she’s known for shredding cardboard boxes and eating chicken OUT OF OUR FRIDGE. My solution? Block the door to the cardboard boxes and the litter box. She could easily knock the basket over. Shoot – I’ve seen her jump! She could easily jump over the barrier, too. But I’m hoping that it’s enough of a deterrent that she won’t. And so far, it seems to be working.

At least I think so. I have come home a few times to this:

Guilty German Shepherd

Guilty

She is laying there, wagging her tail excessively, but she refuses to move until I acknowledge her. There is no mess, the litter box hasn’t been raided, and I found no accidents (all of which I checked before telling her she was a good girl!). Could she feel guilty for being out? Or was she on the couch? I think we’ll never know…

4 comments

  1. lexitheschnauzer · September 14, 2015

    Lexi’s Mom here. Some dogs feel responsible for everyone, such as if the cat did something, Sammy would feel shame or guilt. Or perhaps she thinks you will be upset to come home and see her out of her kennel. Why don’t you try a real upbeat, “Hey Sammie girl, how ya’ doin? Want to play? Want a treat cause you’re such a good girl?” I would be very interested in hearing if she still acts “guilty” when you get home after you have done that a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · September 14, 2015

      No guilt today! And since she seemed so happy to see me, I made sure I praised her and was happy to see her, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. wallaceandsamuel · September 15, 2015

    Good job Sammie! Puppy steps we say.
    Wally & Sammy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · September 15, 2015

      Puppy steps is right! Aaron finally brought in her kennel, and we left her out and its door open so she can choose to snooze in there if she wishes. Hooray!

      Like

Leave a Reply

