World: Meet Emma!

Last week, a friend of mine told me that there were Doberman Pinscher / Poodle mix puppies available from a rescue a few hours away. I’d never heard of that cross before, so I asked her to send me pictures. Here’s what I got:

IMG_2285

Is she not the most adorable thing you have ever seen?! It’s her picture from the rescue’s website, and I was immediately smitten. For the rescue to consider me for adoption, I had to fill out an application. Which I did – IMMEDIATELY. I then called Aaron to tell him what I’d done. Once he saw her picture, he was fine with my decision.

A few hours later, her picture was no longer on the website – I was DEVASTATED! I thought I was too late, that she must have already been adopted. So I put in applications for her two litter mates, who were adorable, but didn’t pull at my heart quite so strongly. When I checked back on Friday, they were all gone.

I was disappointed, to say the least. I had really hoped we had found our puppy!! That afternoon, however, I got a call. It was about the puppies! I immediately called back and they asked if I had a preference since I had put in multiple applications. I said not really, that I had been leaning towards the girl above, but that could change once I met them. They asked if I could come to their adoption event on Saturday, and I said I could probably do that.

I then called Aaron to see if he was okay with that. We talked about it quite a bit that night, and agreed it would be worth it to at least go and see them! What’s the harm in that? We got up and arranged to be there right before the event started at 11am. When we arrived, there was only one puppy there – I was worried that we had missed the whole thing and all the puppies had been adopted already! I was assured that they were coming, and we went into Petsmart to browse while we waited. Around 11:30am, Aaron spotted two girls approaching with puppies under each arm. I immediately announced myself, and the woman I had spoken to said, “Yes! I have your name down on that one.” The puppy I had wanted!! I asked if I could hold her (the answer: absolutely!), and once I had her in my arms I was hooked.

She’s a scrawny, scruffy little thing who clung to me for dear life! I think it was all very overwhelming for her. Aaron and I put her down with her litter mates and we agreed: she was coming home with us.

He went inside to pick out a collar for her while I paid them. In the meantime, other people had come over and were holding all the puppies. I joked that it was going to be hard to get her back! The woman smiled and said she should have put up a sign that they were all adopted already. Apparently, they had received 20 applications for the puppies, and my application was one of the easiest and first approved. She was mine from the get-go!

Aaron came back empty handed, which turned out to be best because she came with a coupon book to load her up with everything she needed. As soon as the other people put her down, Aaron scooped her up, we got her vet records, and we headed inside to pick out a collar.

Tomorrow, I’ll tell you about the car ride back, her introduction to Sammie and the cats, and her first night with us!

15 comments

  1. colinandray · November 9, 2015

    Congratulations on your new family member! 🙂

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · November 9, 2015

      Thanks, Colin and Ray!! It’s an all new kind of adventure 🙂

      Like

  2. noodle4president · November 9, 2015

    OMD! Yippeeeeee! Welcome new puppy ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. micaelabeth · November 9, 2015

    Oh my gosh talk about adorable!!!! Congrats!!! I can’t wait to read your next posts about her! And lots of pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lexitheschnauzer · November 9, 2015

    She is adorable. I just hope MY Mom doesn’t get any ideas… can’t wait to hear how Sammy is doing with her, and what you named her. That says so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · November 9, 2015

      The rescue had named her Maisy – we renamed her Emma! We just didn’t think ‘Maisy’ fit her. The rest will come tomorrow, so check back in then!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. lexitheschnauzer · November 9, 2015

    Oops, her name is Emma. Nice. Emma.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Will (MarkingOurTerritory.com) · November 9, 2015

    Oh man, crazy exciting – congrats! Can’t wait to follow along on your new adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · November 9, 2015

      Thanks! We’re excited too. This is my first LITTLE puppy, so there’s a lot to learn 🙂

      Like

  7. carolynswriting · November 10, 2015

    EEEEEEE! That was my reaction when I saw her photo! Well done, she looks so sweet 🙂 I had a similar thing with my fluffball Izzie – I rang to ask to see her at the vets but when I arrived later in the afternoon they had a sign on her enclosure saying ‘adoption pending’ 😦 I was heartbroken (it was love at first sight) until they said the sign was for me – it was our vet, they obviously knew me well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · November 11, 2015

      Haha that’s too perfect!!

      Emma is SO sweet, but she is really getting feisty now that she’s settled in. Her antics crack us up!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

