Puppies are Hard Work!

I promised you all a blog post yesterday, and I didn’t deliver – sorry about that. I write during my down time at work, and there just wasn’t any to be found!

You guys – potty training is TOUGH! I knew that it would be, but I figured I would take Emma out every few hours on a schedule and we’d get it in no time.

Nope.

Sometimes, she plays really hard and I have to watch her like a hawk because she’ll just stop and go and then keep on playing. Other times, she eats, and then will wait 30 minutes or maybe even 2 hours before deciding she needs to potty – it’s never consistent. Going to work does make it a little easier, though.

Monday, I dreaded leaving her behind. She whined and it just broke my heart! I wanted to stay home and keep snuggling. By today, I’m grateful for the ease of it. So here is how our weekdays go:

  • We get up and immediately go outside – if we don’t, she has an accident like she did this morning and I have to strip all the sheets (I was just so tired and wanted to lay there a LITTLE longer).
  • Then, we come inside and everyone gets fed.
  • When Emma’s done eating, I put her in her kennel and shower (to avoid the play-hard-potty-while-mom’s-not-looking I described above) and get dressed.
  • We go outside again! Sometimes she goes at this point, sometimes she is too distracted by wanting to play with Sammie.
  • I set her on the bed and dry my hair, brush my teeth, do whatever finishing touches I need to do for the day.
  • Just Emma and I go out to potty so she’s not distracted by Sammie.
  • We come inside, I put her in her kennel, and I leave for work.
  • I come home for lunch and immediately let them out to potty. Most days, Emma’s had an accident and I have to replace the towel that I laid down in her kennel. On one occasion, she didn’t – woo!
  • I feed her again.
  • When she’s done, I carry her around with me to avoid the immediate potty that has occasionally happened.
  • Before I leave, we all go out and potty again.
  • I come home from work and immediately take them outside (again, replace the towel). Then I feed Emma again and we go to the couch if she’s willing to snuggle. Sometimes she’s not, so we go outside and I let her and Sammie play together until she potties. Then we come inside and play!
  • Everyone is fed again about 7:30pm, and food and water is taken away at 8:30pm. Usually by this time, she’s settling down and is ready to nap with me.
  • We go to bed. And get up 2-3 times in the night.

Puppies are tough, and it’s even harder doing it by yourself (Aaron is on a hunting trip until Sunday – he is going to owe me big time!). But they’re also so much fun! Emma is so excited about EVERYTHING, and I love watching her romp and play.

My favorite moments, though, are still the quiet times when she’s sleeping and I just get to love on her. Then, she’s my precious baby and I forget how tired I am – these moments are worth the struggles from the rest of the day.

11 comments

  1. Heba vs Reason · November 13, 2015

    Reblogged this on Heba vs Reason.

    Like

  2. lexitheschnauzer · November 13, 2015

    Yep, Emma is one lucky puppy. May I make a suggestion? Instead of bringing her inside as soon as she’s pottied, maybe try giving her a treat, saying, “Good potty” and letting her have a few more minutes of play time. That way, she won’t associate no more play time with pottying. I just know how our doggie brains work, he, he.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. adventuresofauntiem · November 13, 2015

    Puppies are totally hard work. Mine was, and he’s an angel about potty stuff. Although I totally envy you for quality puppy time, I don’t envy you the house training process. You can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. micaelabeth · November 13, 2015

    I was never a clicker fan but the training classes we took at Petco used them and for Tucker that finished potty training in a week. He went potty and we clicked immediately then treat. Different for every dog but I had never used that method before so I thought I would share since it was new to me. You are working hard though! Emma is lucky to have such an awesome dog mom!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · November 13, 2015

      Thank you! We have never clicker trained either, but I hear such good things about it, I may have to try it

      Liked by 1 person

  5. noodle4president · November 17, 2015

    Macy still has accidents sometimes if Mom doesn’t take her out as soon as she’s done playing. She’s almost 9 months old. Puppies pee too much. *ear licks* Noodle

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Maddy at Home · November 22, 2015

    Pupies are hard work, and you need somewhere to confine them, otherwise they will eat everything you own. But they are adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · November 22, 2015

      Emma is definitely a chewer! When we’re gone, she’s confined to her kennel. Now that she has a gimpy leg, she’s confined to the couch when we’re home!

      Like

Leave a Reply

