Sammie the Snuggle Bug

Sammie’s been quite the snuggler lately. When she’s not goading Emma into rough-housing inside, she’s snuggled up as closely to Aaron or me as she can get.

Of course, I love it! She’s the best at giving snuggles. If she sees a space, she’ll find a way to fit in it. The first picture above is a good instance of that. I was probably laying on my side, and she saw room next to me so came right on up.

She’s back to chewing on her paws again – that had stopped for a while after we moved into the house, and I still don’t think it’s as bad as it used to be. The BIGGEST improvement when it comes to her feet, though, is her willingness to let me touch them. She still doesn’t like me spreading her toes or feeling between her pads, but I can hold her paw and pet the tops/bottoms of them without too much difficulty. She really needs her nails trimmed, so I’m hoping some treats and this improvement will make doing so easier.

She’s also been more willing to go to her kennel when she needs a break from Emma, and Emma seems to understand that the kennel is Sammie’s “safe space” and that she needs to be left alone when she’s in there. I’m glad Emma loves Sammie enough to respect her space. It makes me so incredibly happy when everyone gets along!

7 comments

  1. brendablagdon · March 22, 2016

    Who did you get first, Sammie or Emma?

    Like

    • Saving Sammie · March 22, 2016

      Sammie. She’s been with us about a year and a half now šŸ™‚

      Like

      • brendablagdon · March 22, 2016

        It’s great when the original pet gets along with the new one. We has two cats, Sassy and Socks, for 14 and 12 years and the most that Sassy did was tolerate Socks. But Socks never gave up trying to be friends.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Saving Sammie · March 22, 2016

        We think Sammie likes that Emma is big enough to REALLY play with her now. Although ‘tolerate’ is still a good word for a lot of the time, haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. tippysmom2 · March 22, 2016

    Snuggles are the best. Glad Emma and Sammie are getting along and she is respecting his space. That is so important. I have only had Tippy’s nails trimmed once and she hated it. I had the vet to do it on one of her regular visits. She didn’t flinch when she stuck a stick up her butt, but Tippy was ready to “get” her when she started trimming her nails. When I thought about that, it was kind of funny. Since then, I have been holding her paws more. She doesn’t like it, but it getting better at tolerating me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · March 22, 2016

      That’s been my plan as well! And, since we hope to not go to the vet but once a year, I bought nail clippers. Emma hates having her nails trimmed, too. What is with dogs and their feet?!

      Like

  3. tippysmom2 · March 23, 2016

    I know that their pads are sensitive and I think maybe they have to really trust and respect a person they let touch them. But, it can be quite frustrating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

