House Guest

We have a new house guest staying with us for the next two weeks or so:

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Boomer!

It’s Boomer! My 7.5 year old boxer who lives with my parents. They’re going on vacation, so he’s coming to stay with us and I’m so excited. I told them they might not get him back (dad said “good!” but mom just stared at me like “you wouldn’t dare”)!

I think I’ve told you all before that the reason he never came to live with me is because he doesn’t adjust well to new surroundings, and my parents live on 20 acres, so he can be outside and roam all day but still come in when they’re home. Well, he’s lived up to not adjusting well so far…

Last night, we let the girls out, and then brought Boomer in to the backyard to see them. They were so excited he was there! And I think having them around helped him settle in a bit. When we went to bed, we had to coax him up the stairs to join us in our room. He came without much trouble, but when he woke Aaron up and hinted he needed to go out this morning, he wouldn’t go down the stairs. He wouldn’t really even get out on the landing. He was just stuck in the doorway of our room. The girls went up and down, I turned on all the lights, I got his leash, I praised him every time he moved toward me, but it didn’t work. Aaron eventually had to pick him up and carry him downstairs. Once he was downstairs, he was fine. He went out and pottied, and Aaron even said he pooped for him (which is unusual the first few days he’s somewhere new). Needless to say, he didn’t come back upstairs with us for the rest of the morning.

He’s not big on treats, so I’m not sure how to help him get over his fear of going down the stairs, except to let him settle in a little more and try it again on Saturday.

So we now have five animals living in the house with us, and I thought I’d turn them into ‘The Secret Life of Pets’ characters (because who knows WHAT they’ll be doing all day while we’re at work!):

You can create your own Pet Moji atΒ http://www.mypetmoji.com/make. Thank you to life with 3 dogs for leading us to the link!

 

15 comments

  1. lifewith3dogsblog · July 14, 2016

    Your cartoons look awesome! Your kitties almost look like twins! And OMGOSH Boomer’s gray face melted my heart! πŸ™‚ Hopefully he starts feeling more comfortable with the stairs for you guys.. Does your parents house not have stairs and he just isn’t use to them?
    Our dog Alcide doesn’t mind our normal stairs, but he is terrified of our basement stairs and like you guys had to do for Boomer my fiance’ has to carry Alcide down the basement stairs. (he only has to go down there for tornado warnings though)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 14, 2016

      Boomer’s my baby, no matter how gray he gets!! My parents have stairs to the basement, and mom sews down there a lot. He will go down and visit her occasionally and will do so no problem. I think he just isn’t quite sure what to make of our stairs, yet. We will take it at his pace!

      Liked by 1 person

      • lifewith3dogsblog · July 14, 2016

        You guys all could just make a fort in the living room and sleep in there together!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sam · July 14, 2016

        Haha, I suppose we could! But I heard the mattress was a bear to get up the stairs…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lexitheschnauzer · July 14, 2016

    Aw, Boomer has the sweetest face. How wonderful you are able to keep “your” dog again, even if for just a while. And if he adjusts well, I bet he will be back on a regular basis!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 14, 2016

      Here’s to hoping! He’s been the best pooch – he is even sweeter than he looks πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Cupcake · July 14, 2016

    Boomer sounds like a pawful! Sometimes when I get scared, Mom has to carry me, but I only weigh 22 pounds. Good luck. Have fun, buddy.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 14, 2016

      He is definitely a needy pup, but I don’t know why! We took him LOTS of places when he was little to try and help be comfortable in new locations. It worked to socialize him around people and other animals, though!

      Like

  4. Photofinland by Rantasalot · July 14, 2016

    Boomer looks straight to my heart!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 16, 2016

      Aww! I love this!! Probably because he looks straight to my heart, too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. whippetwisdom · July 18, 2016

    What a sweet boy Boomer is. He looks like he feels secure in his routines and when he knows what is going on. It may help him when you visualise what you are explaining to him, he can see the pictures you are making and it may help him understand better than just words.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. carolynswriting · July 24, 2016

    Boomer looks so cute & I hope he gets used to the stairs soon. And the cartoons look so cool, will have to give that site a go!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 25, 2016

      Thanks! He climbed up the stairs by himself, without prompting, this morning. Probably because he was scared of the storms. Couldn’t coax him back down again 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

