Friday Funny: Evacuation

One weekend, I was getting ready to vacuum up all the dust bunnies that can collect from so many fur babies in the house when I smelled a smoking / burning smell. I was afraid it was coming from the outlet, so I got close to smell it, and no luck. So I started smelling the nearby electronics until I realized it was coming from our gas fireplace (that wasn’t lit). I called my dad – because who else do you call in a situation like this?! – who said to call the gas company. I did, and they recommended that we evacuate the house until someone could arrive and check it out.

Now, you all know how much Tubby loves to go outside and sniff around. Frou is less enthusiastic about it, but she will go outside sometimes too. Being forcefully put outside? She wasn’t happy about it. At all. Tubby wasn’t at first either, but he quickly warmed up to the idea.

So while we waited for the all clear, Frou went back and forth along the side of the house, meowing and trying to find a way back inside. Clearly, she wasn’t going to – or at least, that’s what I thought! Next thing I know, I look over and see this:

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Frou-Frou in between the screen and the window

She was so desperate to get back inside that she forced herself through what had been a small hole in the screen of the kitchen window. I would say she was stuck, but she is incredibly flexible, and I saw her turn around in that space.

Not wanting to leave her in there, I went inside, opened the window, grabbed her, and brought her back outside, at which time, she promptly got back up in the windowsill and was trying to get back inside the same way. The gas company was at the house by this point in time and said we didn’t have a gas leak – the chimney just hadn’t been cleaned when it was converted from a wood burning fireplace to a gas fireplace who-knows-how-long-ago. The smell is a combination of the wind pushing it down the chimney and the AC vent pushing it out into the living room. So we were okay to let the cats back inside.

Frou was thrilled and immediately ran off to hide. Unfortunately, we now have a huge hole in our screen, and the spiders have taken advantage of it to build a web in the space between the screen and the window where Frou was. We’re going to need to get a new screen soon!

10 comments

  1. tippysmom2 · July 22

    Glad there wasn’t a problem. Frou is so funny!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 22

      We were glad too! Cats have such personality – I love it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lifewith3dogsblog · July 22

    Glad there wasn’t anything wrong in the house..It’s a scary feeling! And Frou OMGOSH haahha that’s funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a clever cat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 22

      Sometimes, she’s too clever for her own good!

      Like

  4. lexitheschnauzer · July 22

    A new screen AND a chimney sweep!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cupcake · July 22

    Ha! Yikes – what a story! Thank goodness nothing was burning. Now you have a spider condo on your window. You seem like the kind of person who would carefully move the spiders and find them someplace nice to stay when you replace the screen. Mom would spray them with Raid. That’s how she rolls. #arachnaphobia

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 22

      Oh I’m with her on that one, Cupcake! I hate spiders! Although I accidentally left my windows down in my car, and a spider had built a huge web in the passenger seat. Rather than kill it, I rode with it to work and then put it out of the car. I freaked out when I thought it touched me or dropped on me, but it lived.

      Maybe you’re right! Maybe I’m changing…

      Like

Leave a Reply

