Triumph!

Boomer is slated to go home tomorrow, and it’s going to be really difficult to say bye to him – not just for me, but also for our girls (especially Emma):

It’s going to be REALLY tough, though, because Boomer has finally conquered his fear of the stairs! Kinda. He’s come upstairs to sleep with us the last three evenings. He won’t come when we all go upstairs, but when he realizes we’re staying up there for the night, he’ll make the climb. I saw him do it last night, and it was almost a sprint! In the mornings, he will come out onto the landing no problem (yayy!), but going downstairs still takes a little coaxing – I think it’s because our stairs are wood, so he doesn’t have good traction on them. But every morning is a little easier, and I’ve been so proud of him.

I know my mom misses him. And I know he misses the freedom to roam, but I’m going to miss having that big hunk of lovin’ around all the time!

9 comments

  1. lifewith3dogsblog · July 28, 2016

    Awh yay Boomer you did it! Our dogs always tip toe across the tile in the kitchen (multiple accidents lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 28, 2016

      He slid almost all the way down yesterday, but today I noticed why – he steps down nails first!

      Like

  2. Photofinland by Rantasalot · July 28, 2016

    Boomer rules! The last photo is lovely, Boomer showing his tongue to Emma 🙂 🙂 🙂 :-). You must have pain in your heart when that big dog has to go, but be happy too, because he learned a new skill.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Genevieve Petrillo · July 28, 2016

    Good job, Boomer. Stairs can be scary. And slippery. Have fun at home.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lexitheschnauzer · July 28, 2016

    I bet Emma will keep Sammy busy once Boomer leaves. So now, maybe your folks will let Boomer come over more often! Please tell Boomer to be really careful on those wood stairs…that’s how I sprained my knee!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sam · July 28, 2016

      Oh no, Lexi! I didn’t remember that!

      But I’m sure you’re right. Maybe Sammie will miss Boomer more than she realizes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

