Friday Funny: Security Blanket

When I first brought Tubby home, he would ‘nurse’ on fringe, wrinkles in shirts/bedding, etc. He would purr and knead the spot with his little paws, and when he stopped, there would be this huge wet spot around where he was nuzzling. I thought it was adorable and also hoped it didn’t mean there was something wrong with him (the vet told me she had cats that did the same – phew!).

As he got older, he got more discriminatory in what he would ‘nurse’ until it became just a single blanket:

Four year later and he still does it. Just on this single blanket and only if I’m laying underneath it. I find it hilarious but also incredibly endearing.

Do you have cats that still ‘nurse’?

12 comments

  1. Rantasalot · April 15, 2016

    Sometimes I really want that cats could talk in our language. It would be so nice to hear them telling reasons for their behavior.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lexitheschnauzer · April 15, 2016

    Mom used to have one. The vet said the kitten was taken from her mother too young. She would soak Mom’s nightgown.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Three Chatty Cats · April 15, 2016

    I’ve never had a cat that did this, but I’ve seen lots of videos of other cats doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. brendablagdon · April 17, 2016

    Buddy doesn’t do that. But my last cat, sassy, nursed and kneaded. She would also drag articles of clothing down from the bedroom and suck on them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · April 17, 2016

      Tubby find Aaron’s hats and drags them around the house! But I don’t think he nurses on hem

      Liked by 1 person

  5. carolynswriting · April 25, 2016

    Our big brave ginger boy Hermie starts doing this after he’s had a fight with a neighbour’s cat, or is just feeling sooky – he pushes onto my lap and starts kneading and mouthing my clothing or the bedding. It is adorable, despite the dribbling! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ginene Nagel · April 30, 2016

    When I first brought my kitten home, after finding her on a highway, she didn’t want anything to do with me. There was no love lost there. But, I woke up every night to find her in my bed, sleeping on the pillow and sucking on my ear lobe! Poor little bugger, she must have thought, “I can’t stand her but it is dark out!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saving Sammie · April 30, 2016

      Aww! How sweet is that? I think she must have secretly likes you 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment